The Bio21 Cluster

Establishing the Bio21 Institute is the University of Melbourne's contribution to the Bio21 Cluster Project.  This state-wide initiative, through the entity, The Bio21 Cluster, strategically links Victoria's prestigious biomedical research institutions and major hospitals affiliated and located in close proximity to the University of Melbourne and the Bio21 Institute.

The participation of the Institute in the Bio21 Project facilitates collaboration and increased engagement among the broader members.  Significant opportunties to access complementary research, share technologies, integrate clinical capabilities and develop commercialisation opportunities are some of the benefits of bringing these groups together.

Bio21 Cluster member organisations 

Founding Members

Melbourne Health
University of Melbourne
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Joining Members

Austin Biomedical Alliance
Bionic Ear Institute
CSIRO Molecular and Health Technologies
Howard Florey Institute
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Mental Health Research Institute
Murdoch Children's Research Institute
NICTA Victoria Research Laboratory
Orygen Research Centre
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
St Vincent's Health
St Vincent's Institute
The Royal Women's Hospital
Victorian College of Pharmacy

Back to top

Associate Members

Cancer Council of Victoria
Cancer Trials Australia
Neurosciences Victoria Ltd
The Royal Children's Hospital

Back to top

Related Links

Contact Us

Bio21 Cluster Tile